Sacred Heart of Jesus Cathedral - Murang'a


To unify God's people through Evangelization and holistic human development.


To be a sustainable organisation effectively addressing the spiritual and socio-economic MISSION needs of God’s people

Map of the Catholic Diocese of Murang'a

The Catholic Diocese of Murang’a (CDM) is situated in Central Kenya and covers Murang’a and Kirinyaga counties. CDM was erected on 17th March 1983 by Pope John Paul II during 15th year of this pontificate. It was curved from the Diocese of Nyeri (Now Archdiocese of Nyeri). At the time of it's creation, the Diocesan had 19 parishes and 19 Diocesan priests. The total population of the two counties stands at approximately 1.67 million1. Of these, 608,583 are Catholics. The others are Protestants, Muslims and Traditionalist.

Agriculture is the main economic activity in the Diocese with the majority of the inhabitants being small scale farmers. coffee, tea and rice are the main cash crops. Other crops grown in the area include bananas, maize, beans, tomatoes, French-beans and other horticultural crops.

CDM continues to contribute towards the spiritual, social and economic empowerment of the counties. Targeted interventions are conducted through the established structures which currently consist of 7 Deaneries and 48 Parishes. Within the Parishes, the Diocese has built churches, health facilities of various levels, educational facilities in early childhood education, primary and secondary levels and other developmental investments.

The Diocese is also a key stakeholder in the affairs of the two Counties, being engaged in various developmental committees and contributing directly and indirectly in the local decision-making mechanisms.

The Diocese continues to be a reliable and trusted institution by the people of Murang’a and Kirinyaga Counties even into the foreseeable future.

 History behind the root of the Catholic Diocese of Murang’a

In 1902, the Consolata Missionaries arrived in Tuthu with the aim of proclaiming the Good News. They were welcomed by Chief Karuri
Gakure, who had requested the Zanzibar Bishop through the then Murang’a colonial Commissioner, Dr. Hinde, to allow the missionaries
to visit Tuthu. On 27th June of that year, the first mass was celebrated there by the pioneer missionaries . A seed of faith was planted. It
germinated, grew and spread. We now have, from that humble beginning, 7 Dioceses and 1 Vicariate in this region: (Nyeri, Marsabit, Meru, Embu, Murang’a, Mararal, Nyahururu and Isiolo Vicariate)

The Diocese is made up of the following Deaneries:
The secretariate